What Noah taught me

noah scripture.jpg

I have this big, old, fat notebook that I filled up long ago, but I can’t seem to bring myself to throw it away. It is filled with so many thoughts and musings, discarded blog posts, unsent letters, and the list goes on. Tonight, I was paging through it and came upon something I had written in 2015 and it was a source of encouragement for me today in my life. I am so excited by all that the Father is doing, but every day that passes, I seem to become even more aware of my human limitations and lately I have just felt so worn out. I keep feeling like I need to give myself a few days off, but my mind has other ideas. Anyways, so I just thought I’d share what I wrote, maybe it will bless someone out there who is going through something similar.

21/10/2015

Tonight, I was reading about Noah. It seems pretty much on par with the world we live in today. This is the time of Noah and the days are truly dark. You just have to turn on the T.V. to see what turmoil the world is in, and sometimes, the T.V. isn’t even necessary, it seems to be happening all around us.

Over the past few months, I feel like I have been seeing a lot of this darkness and it has, at times, been really difficult. This week has been particularly trying. I have felt helpless and hopeless and I have also felt really angry. What is the point of all this? Why is this happening?

Rest.

What?! I can’t rest; the world is falling apart. There is bitterness and hatred everywhere.

Rest.

But, can’t you see I am struggling? How am I going to get through this?

Rest.

Do you know what Noah’s name means? You guessed it.

Rest.

Do you know that it took Noah roughly 100 years to build the ark? ONE HUNDRED YEARS! Can you grasp that? Can anyone grasp 100 years? (*Well, maybe my great gran can, she turned 100 in September 2016) So, yes, it took Noah ±100 years. People were evil and darkness covered the earth, yet he remained obedient. I feel in awe of Noah’s faith and trust in the Father. It is just the beginning for me and my faith is dwindling and I am losing the strength to hold on.

Rest.

And then, I remember that Noah was just a man. Not a sinless man. Not a perfect man. Not a super man, just man. It was with Yahweh’s strength that he was able to persevere and finish his race.

We are all Noah’s and we all have our metaphorical arks to build. The truth is is that Yeshua is going to return. It  has already been written, and whether it’s in 10 years or 100 is not the point. What’s important is that the bugle has been sounded and we all have a task set before us. He has chosen and designed us for our individual and unique purposes and we need to be like Noah and heed His call. Regardless of what’s happening in the world. Regardless of the ridicule and rejection you may receive. The times are dark and it is so easy to lose focus, to lose sleep, to worry and to be anxious, but God promises us rest. He promises us still waters and protection and restoration. He promises us life, and life to the full.

So, today, I cast all my burdens and anxieties upon Him and grab a hold of His promise of rest. I quieten my spirit and allow the Living Water to wash over me. I surrender my fears, my stresses and my worries to Him and thank Him for this lesson on Noah and for all that it has taught me in this season of life.

That is what Yahweh does; He doesn’t promise that life is easy or that the journey will be smooth, but He does promise that He will be with us every step of the way – loving us, guiding us and giving us all that we need in order to run the good race.

♦wbr♦

So, friend, rest tonight. I pray the Father will fill you anew and that you will overflow with His love and shalom. I pray that He will reveal Himself to you mightily as you set aside your fear and surrender all to Him. There He is with open arms, go to Him, sweet child ♥

©

To find out about the proverbial ark that I am busy building, click here

2 thoughts on “What Noah taught me

  1. Kathy says:

    😩🙏 This truly just lifted my spirit . Noah took a hundred years!!! His faith didn’t waiver!! I struggle with a 100 minutes. I just feel the need to delight in the Lord. May you be blessed as well as you embark on your next journey and build your “ark”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

