Joyful Surrender

joyful surrender

It becomes almost too easy to dwell on things of the past. Too easy to allow yourself to use the past as an excuse for your actions today. And I don’t necessarily mean the past as in 10 years ago, it could even mean last year.

I feel this intense need to shed the skin of yesteryear. To keep only the lessons learned, the growth and the good and to let go of everything else, everything that has happened even up until this very point that I am writing this.

Because, I finally realised something: I am a child of God and He is so good and His love endures forever. If I can take one thing from last year, it is that He is always always always there. And I mean always. And so, I am not going to allow the past to define me. I am not going to allow circumstances to shake me. I am not going to believe the lies of the enemy anymore and finally, I am not going to hold myself back; for I am worthy and I am loved. I am chosen. Reborn. Redeemed. This is how I choose to live my life from this day forward.

I am utterly imperfect and flawed, but I am in love with a perfect, flawless God who fights for me and never leaves my side.

So bring on 2016. A year of birth and new beginnings. A year of surrender and joy. A year of letting go and trusting.

A wonderful year, because I serve a wonderful God.

May God bless you and keep you this year. May He make His face to shine upon you. I pray for a year of growth, surrender and obedience for you. And may you know how loved you are. Loved, chosen and oh so cherished. So live in this truth, beloved. Because He knit you together in your mother’s womb, He knows you and calls you by name. You are His. Believe it, live in it and rest in it. You are His.

 

2 thoughts on “Joyful Surrender

Leave a Reply

