A Martha-like girl

luke 10

Jesus Visits Martha and Mary (Luke 10: 38-42)

38 As Jesus and the disciples continued on their way to Jerusalem, they came to a certain village where a woman named Martha welcomed him into her home. 39 Her sister, Mary, sat at the Lord’s feet, listening to what he taught. 40 But Martha was distracted by the big dinner she was preparing. She came to Jesus and said, “Lord, doesn’t it seem unfair to you that my sister just sits here while I do all the work? Tell her to come and help me.”

41 But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! 42 There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”

From a young age, I knew that I was more inclined to be Martha-like than Mary-like. And this year it has really been about shaking things up. My whole life, I have been the responsible one. Everything was to go according to plan. I have always worked hard, but maybe more so on the finer details, not caring if anyone noticed, yet hoping desperately that someone would – and say ‘Well done!’ I would get so frustrated when someone wasn’t able to see something that was so glaringly obvious in my eyes.

I totally get Martha in that moment!

This year has been all about those moments….and even more so about letting them go. It is only something that has dawned on me today, as I was reading Luke. Not everyone in the world is a Martha, and not everyone is a Mary. In fact, you are not either or..there were lessons to be learned that day for both Mary and Martha. Leaning more towards either one has its pros and cons, the one is not more right than the other, but it’s about realising this.

Work has been a big lesson for me in this regard. More times than I can count, I have come home so upset because my boss or colleague wasn’t able to understand the time it took for the tiniest detail. It’s sad I know, but sometimes I feel so hurt when you have gone to so much effort and it feels like people can’t acknowledge it. It is so easy for me to feel offended or disrespected and I have had to make a conscious decision to keep this in check, to be real about the fact that what’s important to me, isn’t important to the next person. And vice versa.

And, sometimes I need a reminder from the Father, “My dear Bianca, you are so upset over all these details!”

I am worried about the details. I wish to please, to serve, to do the right thing and I know to a certain degree that this has held me back, or prevented the Father from working in my life the way He wants to. Getting so caught up in all these details has caused me to forget the main reasons for my actions

Again, I will say that being either a Mary or Martha has both its pros and cons, but it’s also learning to be balanced. It’s about learning who YOU are and being REAL with who you are. Of course, there is a part of me that wishes I was more like Mary: unfazed by minor details; being able to focus on the big picture and what in that situation was more important. But trying to be someone you are not is draining. Some people go with the flow and others don’t..trying to pursue what you are not is just going to leave you worse off.

I am not like Mary. I battle with perfectionism. I like plans, and I like them even more when things go according to said plan. I ADORE spontaneity – Provided it is carefully thought out and planned. I am not the type to jump in a car and go wherever, or the type to go to a restaurant and declare the waiter ‘surprise me!’

But, I am learning to be.

I am learning to let go, because slowly I am starting to see the bigger picture. I am learning to loosen the reins just a little bit more. I am learning to trust an unknown future to a known God.

I can’t tell Yeshua that I am ready to live for Him and then ask for specific dates and details, even though I want to..and have tried. We are called to walk by faith and not by sight.

A VERY tough task for this Martha-like girl!

e68ba9d719bccd4a17962db7d2c5c669

In a completely unrelated topic, here is a quick 101 in 1001 update. I can officially cross 2 off from my list. This weekend I started my own little herb garden on my balcony. It is just the cutest thing ever and am excited to watch my little plants grow. And then second, I made paleo mayo..twice. The first one was a complete and utter flop, and just the sight of it made me want to gag, over share, but it’s true. I took a few days to recover then tried again and well, we had ourselves a winner! So, money into the savings account! Here’s some pics..

2015-07-20 20.05.25

IMG_20150718_185042

One thought on “A Martha-like girl

  1. Marshmallow says:

    I found this so relevant and heart warming as we seldom want to admit that we spend so much time on the intricate details, that we actually miss the party. We are never ready because we want everything to run according to plan, we want certain things in place before we open the door to guests. The Father may say you are ready, but we are too busy straightening the cushions and packing away the dirtydishes in case we have unexpected guests, while the one we are longing for is already there. What a lesson to be learnt aa we let go of what holds us back. Let go and let God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

